I've always said I hated growing up.
I started feeling old when I was 17. I kid you not.
And I've been avoiding it ever since.
Growing up means responsibility and expectations. It means acting a
certain way, speaking a certain way, presenting yourself in a certain
way. And by certain way I mean mature, composed, put-together. You know, how your parents wished you'd act in public settings.
But what fun is that?
What fun is growing up?
When work supersedes relationships, when your friend circle diminishes, when time spent 'hanging out' might be better spent doing something more 'productive', when you're "on your own" and the only one taking care of yourself.
Why is everyone in such a rush to grow up?
Maybe I'm too sentimental. I hold these friendships and memories all too close to my heart and I very much dislike moving on from it all.
Or maybe I'm just lazy and not ready to work.
end rant.
senior day #250
04.18.17
No comments:
Post a Comment